This article will help you determine why a student's lessons might be locked
Looking for an article to send the student?
Use this link: Why is My Lesson Locked?
Note: The student-facing article walks through most of the reasons listed below. Reason 5 is omitted from the student-facing article to reduce possibility for user confusion.
1. Ask the student to click on the lock icon next to the locked lesson.
The lock icon will display the most urgent reason that the lesson is locked to the student.
Alternatively, you can impersonate the student and do this yourself to see what message is displayed.
2. Use the information below that corresponds to the reason the lesson is locked to guide your response to the student.
SI Cloud almost always requires proof of purchase before it will allow students to access course content. This can be provided in one of three ways:
- Redeeming a kit code
- Redeeming a voucher code
- Ordering the kit through Cloud
2. Look at the status in the "Kit Code" column
- If it says "Unlock," the student has not yet provided proof of purchase in Cloud. Instruct the student to either order the kit or redeem their voucher/kit code (depending on how the school has chosen to set it up).
- If there is a code or it says "Unlocked," the student has provided proof of purchase and this is not the cause of the issue
Is the student convinced that they already purchased the kit or redeemed their kit/voucher code? There's a good chance that they have created two accounts, as described in Reason 4 below.
All courses include two or three prerequisite courses that introduce students to using the Cloud platform. If these lessons are not completed, the rest of the student's lessons will not unlock. Completed lessons will have a checkmark.
- If these lessons do not all have checkmarks, advise the student that they must complete these lessons before being able to continue.
- If these lessons have checkmarks, continue on to the next possible reason.
Most courses in SI Cloud require the student to complete their lessons in order. If the student hasn't fully completed the previous lessons, they will be unable to move on to the next lessons.
When viewing the student's Lessons page, see which lessons have been completed. Completed lessons will have a checkmark.
- If there are not checkmarks next to all the previous lessons, the student needs to go back and fully complete those lessons before the next lesson will unlock.
- If there are checkmarks next to all the previous lessons, this is not the issue and you can move to the next option below.
Instructors have the option to set lesson access dates in SI Cloud. Once set, a lesson cannot be accessed until the access date has arrived. If it is before that access date, the lesson will remain locked.
- If the message looks like the one above, the lesson has an access date set and the student needs to wait until that date to access the lesson.
- If that date has passed but the lesson is still locked, the issue is most likely that the previous lessons were not fully completed (see reason #2 above).
This usually happens because the instructor is using LTI, but provided the enrollment link to students as well, and so the student has two accounts.
Usually, the student will have unlocked the course content (ordered/redeemed kit) in one account, but is trying to access content through the other account.
1. Search for the student by name (not email) on the "student" tab in Cloud
If you see two entries for the student and the only thing that is different is the email address, this is usually the problem.
2. Determine which account they use through the LTI
This is almost always the account that uses the university email address (not Gmail/Yahoo/misc. email). You can verify as follows:
- Have the student access SI Cloud through the link in their LMS.
- Have the student click on"My Account" in the upper-right-hand corner and tell you what email address is listed there.
3. Unlock the correct account and remove the other from the course
More often than not, the account they access through the LMS is the one that uses the university email domain. This account is usually the one that shows "locked" under Kit Code.
Once you've verified with the student that it both accounts belong to them, you can unlock the correct account and remove the incorrect account from the course.
If the school has restricted access to only allow LMS links, the student must access each lesson through its link in their LMS. Attempting to access a lesson by going from one to the next in this situation will result in a lockout.
Advise the student to return to the lesson list in their LMS and access the next lesson from the link there.
1. Tell the student to return to the lesson list in their LMS.
2. When they click the correct lesson link in their LMS, if the issue persists, check for another reason listed in this article.
Often, a repeated failure here is the result of incomplete prerequisite lessons or incomplete lessons when the course requires sequential completion.
If an instructor has begun customization of the lesson and not published the lesson, the lesson will be locked to students.
Advise the student to contact their instructor.







0 Comments
Add your comment