In order to maintain academic integrity, support personnel are never to unlock a completed student lesson at the request of a student. All such requests (whether to a Customer Service representative or an Account Representative) must come from directly from the instructor only.
Who can request that a completed lesson be unlocked/reset?
Customer Service and Account Representatives can unlock and reset a completed lesson for a student only through direct contact with an instructor. This is to maintain academic integrity for the coursework and to prevent situations in which students see they answered questions incorrectly, are graded accordingly, and then would like to resubmit the correct answers for grading.
In what situations is unlocking/resetting a completed lesson for an instructor appropriate?
An instructor can request a lesson reset, or may reset the Experimentation section in a lesson themselves. Commonly, Experimentation sections are reset to allow students to complete data table exercises they may have missed.
If an instructor asks for an Evaluation reset for a student, you may do that for them, though it is worth communicating to them that Cloud never force-submits a student lesson during any kind of network disruption, computer shutdown, browser issue, or other technical issue (see below for more information).
Instructors are the ultimate decision-maker when it comes to their students' lessons--we do not deny any instructor's request to reset a lesson for students, though we do have the responsibility to communicate to them information regarding student claims of technical issues (see below)
In what situations is unlocking/resetting a completed lesson NOT appropriate?
If the student tells you their instructor said it was OK: It is important to review the reason for the request with the instructor directly and receive their permission before resetting an evaluation or unlocking a lesson for a student. DO NOT accept "my instructor said this was OK" from a student.
If the student says a technical error closed and submitted their lesson prematurely: Due to the safeguards built into Cloud, any internet disruption, computer malfunction, or browser will never close or submit the lesson for a student. This is unfortunately something that students may claim in an effort to change their answers after submitting the lesson in order to improve their grade, but Cloud simply does not have any mechanism that force-submits a student lesson at any point due to network errors, computer shutdowns, browser issues, or other situations.
If you are trying to trying to troubleshoot an issue: Even if the instructor tells you they are ok with it, NEVER try resetting an evaluation section for a student "to see if it fixes" a bug or issue--it almost never does, and almost always makes things worse. If you strongly believe it might help, reach out to the product management team first to discuss the bug and appropriate steps for troubleshooting.
Should I reset a student's evaluation to see if it fixes an issue?
No. If you are trying to troubleshoot a problem, do NOT reset the student's evaluation to see if it works. Always report bugs that you aren't sure about how to fix to the product management team, or reach out to them if you are ever unsure if resetting an evaluation is the right choice to solve an issue.
0 Comments
Add your comment